I don’t want to be at
work anymore. I am completely over-loaded so even if it is quiet and
people have nothing to do I am swamped. Besides the overwhelming quantity of
the labor, it is also the quality of the tasks that’s frustrating. I feel like
all creativity has just been sucked out of me. Yesterday, I sat in the parking
lot crying about the fact that I have to go into this stupid, windowless,
over-A/C-ed building … well, I was also talking to J about it…so, I guess, it
made me feel even more upset (i.e. thinking about it instead of just succumbing
to the rut).
Anyway…speaking of whom…
So J is now at the
house….still. He’s been working on my friend's website, who btw. has sent over 40
emails in the past few days regarding additional web edits. I SO DON”T HAVE
TIME FOR THIS. And, to top it all off…she is paying practically nothing… I’ve
been rejecting people for months (asking for webhelp) because I don’t have the
time…I feel hijacked….anyway…that’s not what I wanted to talk about…She is a lovely, lovely lady and I'm glad to help...but I just don't understand how she managed to book me up like this. ;)
So… again … J is at the
house and all morning I was thinking about the letter I was going to write him.
How he is in denial, how his porn preferences are worrisome, etc...
But then... there he is…telling
me to keep the money for the work he's done on the site….and telling me to send him all the webwork
for P’s construction company site (even though, that deal entails only me
getting work done in my apt.)….he just wants to help me….”I’ve done so much for
him…” …. I reckon, he just doesn’t want to be kicked out.
In addition, he’s also
been a much better roomie than he used to be. I mean…he’s still messy with his
own stuff but he’s been doing lots of dishes, he takes out the garbage, he
helped putting up a/cs, carry stuff, fold laundry,… he’s just been a much more
considerate…and also tries to pay attention to the children...and that, they love, of course.
He wants to pretend
nothing happened. Just like he wants to pretend he has no problem with alcohol
or drugs.
He wants to continue to
live in these soap bubbles…fugaciously being carried along, enjoying the ride
until the bubble bursts and he falls, only to get back up and jump into the next
bubble as if nothing happened.
And I? I want to ride
right along with him. I want to pretend his reality isn’t as harsh as it is….I
want to ignore all his troubles and just enjoy the good times. Never mind that
he has an addiction problem, no home, no money, no job, no real or good friends
or support networks, a warrant out for him, court dates pending, a giant
tuition debt that keeps him from receiving his degree, and the list goes on.

No comments:
Post a Comment