Thursday, December 25, 2008

what's the x for in Xmas?

so instead of indulging in my munchies this is what i did instead - yesterday...on christmas eve: think about the etymology of the word xmas. my theory that it was probably to secularize the word and make the holiday more inclusive is definitely one of the theories but there is so much more to it that i'm just going to post the wikipedia link i looked at today:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xmas

oh, and since we're exploring 'tis season's history...here what is what i looked up with my six-year-old:
http://www.history.com/content/christmas/evolution-of-santa/the-legend-of-st.-nicholas

although, i was raised muslim, we always celebrated christmas. my mother is catholic, so we did it all and xmas became my favorite holiday. even though i would now call myself agnostic i still do christmas with the kids. i just think it's a good idea to have certain family rituals with children. so, my girls don't believe in santa or the easter bunny but they enjoy decorating the tree, discussing st. nicholas' history and dress code, and of course what kind of presents they would like. ;)

Ava wished for a wrestler toy and my 4-year old, Nini, wanted make-up and make-up only.

i can't write here. my kids are hitting each other with hand-puppets. they went to bed late (x-mas dinner) and, of course, got up early. now they're a bit on the edge...and they're sitting right next to me. i'll blog later...

No comments:

Post a Comment